27 May 2019

2019 Gore Youth Awards winners

Teenagers Hamish Goatley and Lucy Swain were the Gore District Council Supreme Award senior and junior winners respectively at this year's Gore Youth Awards.

The St James Theatre was almost full for the evening of celebration of the District's youth. The Awards is about young people in the community, aged between 12 years and 24 years, who aren't typically recognised by mainstream award ceremonies.

Guest MC and speaker was double gold medal Paralympian blade-runner Liam Malone, who delivered an inspiring speech.

This year's winners were:

Blue Light Leadership Award -Junior

  • Winner - Lucy Swain
  • Runner-up - Emily Chamberlain

Blue Light Leadership Award - Senior

  • Winner-Jakob Harrex

Community Networking Trust Inclusion and Diversity Award

  • Winner - St Peter's College Kapa Haka group
  • Winner - Thomas and Samuel McKenzie / Thea and Lauryn Pinckney

The Ensign Entrepreneurship Award

  • Winner - Hamish Goatley

Working for Youth Award

  • Winner - Svetlana McGregor
  • Runner-up -Tom Dennison

McDonough Contracting Outstanding Youth Champion Award

  • Winner - Freya Bools

Workplace Safety Southland Non-Conformist Award - Junior

  • Winner - Ben Heaps
  • Winner - Seba Metzler
  • Runner-up - Taylah Friend
  • High Commended – Tom Terry

Workplace Safety Southland Non-Conformist Award

  • Senior Winner - Jasmine Gilder

Soroptimist International of Gore Overcomers Award - Junior

  • Winner-Jayden Gifford

Soroptimist International of Gore Overcomers Award

  • Senior Winner - Hayley Webb
  • Runner-up - Teegan Hall

Gore District Council Junior Supreme Award

  • Winner - Lucy Swain

Gore District Council Senior Supreme Award

  • Winner - Hamish Goatley

Ben Heaps with Andrea McMillan


CNT with Kapa Haka reps


Freya Bools with B McDonough


Jayden Gifford with Anne Gover


joint winners2


Seba Metzler with Andrea McMillan


Lucy Swain

Gore District Council 29 Bowler Avenue Gore P: 03 209 0330 E: