Council Business

The Gore District Council delivers services, facilities and projects following the direction set by elected members. This direction is outlined mainly in the Council's statutory documents - the Long Term Plan and the Annual Plan. We reports progress against these in its Annual Report.

The Council meets every three weeks, usually on a Tuesday, starting at 4.00pm. In 2020, council meetings will be held in the James Cumming Wing lecture theatre on the first floor.

The Council has three committees that meet on a quarterly basis. These are:

  • Capital Works Committee - Chaired by Cr Cliff Bolger
  • Audit and Risk Committee - Chaired by Cr Bret Highsted
  • Community Strategy Committee - Chaired by Cr Richard McPhail



Staff also provide bulletins every six weeks for councillors' information. These are:

Community Services - featuring reports on parks and reserves, libraries, communications, the Gore Visitor Centre, Eastern Southland Gallery and Gore Multisports Complex.

Infrastructure and Planning - featuring reports on 3 Waters, transport, regulatory, animal management and building consents.

To read the bulletins click on this link


The Mataura Community Board. It meets on a Monday, at 5.30pm in the Mataura Elderly Citizens Centre, on a six-weekly basis.

There is also the Gore District Youth Council. Click on this link to find information about the youth council 

Agendas for all meetings, except those closed to the public for reasons provided by the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987, will be published on our agenda page. To go to the agenda page click on this link.

All meetings are notified in the Council's ChinWag Noticeboard, which appears fortnightly on a Friday in The Ensign. 


The Council has a Local Governance Statement, which you can view by clicking on this link [PDF, 373 KB]


The Council is represented on various organisations and joint committees.


Other Government agencies

Great South 

Great South is Southland’s Regional Development Agency. With a focus to create better lives for all Southlanders through sustainable development, Great South will work with key stakeholders and Southland residents to encourage regional growth of our culture and lifestyle, economic diversity and overall population. 

Environment Southland

Environment Southland is the brand name of the Southland Regional Council - the statutory body responsible for managing the region's natural and physical resources of air, land, water and coast.

Southland District Council

The Southland District Council covers an area of 30,900km² and has a population of 29,613. It is Southland's largest local authority, extending from Te Anau to Bluff.

Invercargill City Council

Invercargill City Council is the local council for Invercargill city and Bluff. It  has a population of more than 51,000 people.

Local Government New Zealand

LGNZ represents the national interests of councils in New Zealand and leads best practice in the local government sector. It provides advocacy and policy services, business support, advice and training to its members to assist them to build successful communities throughout New Zealand.




Gore District Council 29 Bowler Avenue Gore P: 03 209 0330 E: