

Gore District Council

2022 Triennial Elections

DECLARATION OF RESULT

The final result for the Gore District Council elections held on Saturday 8th October is as follows.

Mayoralty		Votes Received
BELL, Ben	Team Hokonui	2,371
HICKS, Tracy		2,363
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		1 114
Ben BELL is declared elected.		
Gore Ward (5 vacancies)		Votes Received
HIGHSTED, Bret REID, Bronwyn Anne MCPHAIL, Paul DICKSON, Glenys MCKENZIE, Robert Caveman	Team Hokonui	1,699 1,689 1,688 1,564 1,444
GRANT, Nick MCSTAY, Stephen RETI, Janeen TURIPA, Reuben Rupi	Team Hokonui	1,383 932 777 747
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		1 30

Glenys DICKSON, Bret HIGHSTED, Robert Caveman MCKENZIE, Paul MCPHAIL and Bronwyn Anne REID are declared elected.

Council - At Large (3 vacancies)		Votes Received
MCPHAIL, Richard STRINGER, Joe HOVELL, Keith	Team Hokonui Positive Change	3,455 2,666 2,240
DIXON, Steven Boko ADAMS-GRAY, Liz		1,837 957
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		3 167

Keith HOVELL, Richard MCPHAIL and Joe STRINGER are declared elected.

Mataura Community Board (5 vacancies)	Votes Received
MATAHIKI, Darren	304

DIXON, Steven Boko	300
COATS, Nicky	255
TURNBULL, Laurel	252
TE AU, Colleen	198
WAIHAPE, Constance	192
COLEMAN-CLARKE, Matu-Taera	188
STORER, Melissa	172
ROWLING, Tanya	154
ADCOCK, Gina	118
INFORMAL	0
BLANK VOTING PAPERS	7

Nicky COATS, Steven Boko DIXON, Darren MATAHIKI, Colleen TE AU and Laurel TURNBULL are declared elected.

Mataura Licensing Trust - Ward 2 (3 vacancies)	Votes Received
BURGESS, Bryan Bunny	2,034
ALLISON, Jimmy	1,828
MARSHALL, Craig	1,479
BYRNE, Alan	1,450
INFORMAL	0
BLANK VOTING PAPERS	198

Jimmy ALLISON, Bryan Bunny BURGESS and Craig MARSHALL are declared elected.

Mataura Licensing Trust - Ward 3 (1 vacancy)	Votes Received
MURRAY, Brendon (Moe)	326
TE AU, Colleen	163
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS	0 20

Brendon (Moe) MURRAY is declared elected.

The voter return was 52.65%, being 4,794 votes, excluding special votes.

Elections were not required for the following positions.

Kaiwera-Waimumu Ward (1 vacancy)

As the number of nominations received did not exceed the number of vacancies, Stewart MACDONNELL is declared elected.

Mataura Ward (1 vacancy)

As the number of nominations received did not exceed the number of vacancies, Neville PHILLPS is elected unopposed.

Waikaka Ward (1 vacancy)

As the number of nominations received did not exceed the number of vacancies, John Clarence GARDYNE is declared elected.

Mataura Licensing Trust - Ward 1 (1 vacancy)

As the number of nominations received did not exceed the number of vacancies, Horace MCAULEY is declared elected.

Mataura Licensing Trust - Ward 4 (1 vacancy)

As the number of nominations received did not exceed the number of vacancies, Vince AYNSLEY is declared elected.

Mataura Licensing Trust - Ward 5 (1 vacancy)

As the number of nominations received did not exceed the number of vacancies, Jeannine CUNNINGHAM is declared elected.

Mataura Licensing Trust - Ward 6 (1 vacancy)

As the number of nominations received did not exceed the number of vacancies, Marc Lindsay ROBERTSON is declared elected.

Mataura Licensing Trust - Ward 7 (1 vacancy)

As the number of nominations received did not exceed the number of vacancies, Todd LYDERS is declared elected.

Gore & Districts Health Inc - Gore Ward (4 vacancies)

As the number of nominations received did not exceed the number of vacancies, Peter Alexander GRANT, and Rebecca TAYLER are declared elected.

Gore & Districts Health Inc will determine how the remaining two vacancies will be filled after the triennial elections have been finalised.

Gore & Districts Health Inc - Clutha Ward (1 vacancy)

As the number of nominations received did not exceed the number of vacancies, Cecil CRAWFORD is declared elected.

Gore & Districts Health Inc - Southland Ward (1 vacancy)

Gore & Districts Health Inc will determine how the remaining vacancy will be filled after the triennial elections have been finalised.

Anthony Morton Electoral Officer Gore District Council 13 October 2022