District Licensing Committee

Under the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012, each council must have at least one district licensing committee to consider alcohol licensing matters in its area. These committees have replaced district licensing agencies.

The quorum of the committee is one for unopposed applications (which are dealt with by the chair), and three for opposed applications and for applications for temporary authorities.

The Council's committee members are

Chairman: Cr Bret Highsted

Committee members: Cr Cliff Bolger and Cr Nicky Davis.

We also have a combined list of members with the Southland District Council and the Invercargill City Council. This list is used if a quorum can not be made.

Members are:

Southland District Council - Cr George Harper, Cr G Macpherson, Cr John Douglas

Invercargill City Council - Cr Rebecca Amundsen, Cr Toni Biddle and Cr Lindsay Abbott.


The Gore District has its own Local Alcohol Policy, adopted after consultation.

Gore District Local Alcohol Policy [PDF, 186 KB]

Committee decisions

All councils must have their district licensing committee decisions publicly available.

2017 / 2018


Gore Pakeke Lions Club [PDF, 678 KB]

Gore District Council 29 Bowler Avenue Gore P: 03 209 0330 E: info@goredc.govt.nz