2017 Gore District Community Awards

The 2017 Gore District Community Awards were held on Friday 28 October, at the Gore Town and Country Club stadium. Guest speaker was Sam Johnson, founder of the student volunteer army following the Christchurch earthquakes.

2017 winners were:

J D Souness Young Achiever Award:  Josh Highsted and Joseph Borgman

Soroptimist International of Gore Woman of the Year: Caroline Dore

Gore Musical Theatre Emerging Performing Artist Award: Jakob Savigny and Sarah Muldoon

Mataura Licensing Trust Services to Sport: Dianne Dickens

Sport Southland Community Coach of the Year: Phoebe Miller, runner-up Aaron Miller

Eastern Southland Junior Sportsperson of the Year: Andrew Allan

Anderson Lloyd Contribution to Arts and Culture: Peter Ciarns, runner-up Debbie Smith

The Ensign Customer Service Award: Country Living, people's choice: The Merino Story

Mainland Minerals Environment Award: Pomahaka Watercare Group, runner-up Gore Pakeke Lions

Civic Award: Joint winners Dave Devenport, and Brian and Elaine Kelly


Gore District Council 29 Bowler Avenue Gore P: 03 209 0330 E: info@goredc.govt.nz